Posted on September 3, 2019 by Wendy Frost

H. Raghav Rao, the AT&T Distinguished Chair in Infrastructure Assurance and Security in the UTSA College of Business, was one of three faculty members inducted into the UTSA Academy of Distinguished Researchers.

Rao receiving awardA member of the UTSA faculty since 2016, Rao’s research interests are in the areas of management information systems, decision support systems, e-business, emergency response management systems and information assurance. He has co-edited four books and authored or co-authored more than 200 technical papers, of which more than 125 are published in archival journals.

Rao was the inaugural recipient of The Bright Internet Award by the Korea Society of Management Information Systems. In 2018, he was awarded the International Federation for Information Processing Outstanding Service Award for significant service contributions to the field of information systems and information systems security. His research has received best paper and best paper runner-up awards at the Journal of Information Systems Research, Americas Conference on Information Systems (AMCIS) and the International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS).

He has received funding for his research from the National Science Foundation, the Department of Defense and the Canadian Embassy, and he received a Fulbright fellowship in 2004. Rao is a past chair of IFIP WG 8.11/11.13, the working group for Information Systems Security Research. He is co-editor in chief of Information Systems Frontiers , advisory editor of Decision Support Systems , associate editor of ACM TMIS and senior editor at MIS Quarterly . As of 2019, Rao’s h- index is 61 and his i-10 index is 167. He has been cited 17,879 times.

“It’s vital to recognize our faculty and their contributions to the knowledge enterprise. High-quality faculty is a key component for eligibility into the NRUF, and we want to acknowledge the high caliber of scholarly and research output by the UTSA community. In coordination with the Academy, we are seeking new ways in which our faculty receive national scholarly recognition,” said Bernard Arulanandam, UTSA interim vice president for Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise.

Chaired by Hamid Beladi, associate dean of research and the Janey S. Briscoe Endowed Chair in the College of Business, there are 17 academy members to date, representing a variety of disciplines in the sciences, humanities, social sciences and arts. This academy is one of many pathways to increase national and international recognition of UTSA as an institution of research excellence, and to be officially recognized as a research-intensive university through the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Established in 2015 by the Provost’s Office (now Academic Affairs) and the Research Office (now Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise), the UTSA Academy of Distinguished Researchers honors outstanding faculty who are accomplished scholars and who share the university’s continuing commitment to research excellence. Through a nomination process, selected members promote the university’s vision as a premier public research university and foster the highest quality of research and scholarly activity.

— Wendy Frost