Posted on May 18, 2017 by Joanna Carver

The UTSA College of Business recognized the outstanding contributions of faculty, staff and retirees during the annual College of Business Awards Ceremony.

Jonathan Clark receives award from Dan HollasSeven faculty members were honored for excellence in the areas of teaching, research and service.

Stewart Miller, professor of management, received the E. Lou Curry Teaching Excellence Award. The college’s premier teaching award, the E. Lou Curry Award is presented in memory of Lou Curry, a respected faculty member who passed away in 1995. Miller is known for his rigorous teaching and for his ability to emphasize the real-world application of his subject matter. His students noted that his enthusiasm for teaching was inspiring.

Jonathan Clark, assistant professor of management, was named the recipient of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award for Tenure-Track Faculty. Teaching undergraduate and graduate strategic management classes, Clark has twice received perfect teaching ratings. His use of the case study method provides real-world context to the concepts that the students are studying.

Shelly Dotson receives award from Dan Hollas The recipient of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty is Max Kilger, senior lecturer and director of the data analytics program. Kilger has the ability to take complex quantitative material and make it relatable for students. And, he utilizes his industry experience to provide students with real world insights into the field of data analytics.

In the area of research excellence, Huy Le, associate professor of management, was named the Col. Jean Piccione and Lt. Col. Philip Piccione Endowed Research Award recipient. Le conducts research in the areas of human resource management, cross-cultural organizational behavior and quantitative research methodology. His research portfolio includes 23 articles published in leading academic journals.

Dina Krasikova, assistant professor of management, was the recipient of the Dean’s Research Excellence Award for Tenure-Track Faculty. Her research is multifaceted and integrates organizational leadership with methodological research. Her work has appeared in top-ranked journals, and she has published 10 articles since 2011.

Kevin Grant, associate dean of undergraduate studies, received the Patrick J. Clynes Endowed College of Business Excellence in Service Award. Grant serves on the Management of Technology graduate programs committee, the M.S. in Business program committee and the undergraduate program committee. His leadership has been instrumental in launching the new online BBA in cyber security program in the college.

Mark Lengnick-Hall receives award from Robert Cardy The college’s Endowed 1969 Commemorative Faculty Award for Overall Faculty Excellence honors a faculty member for their accomplishments in teaching, research and service. The award was established to commemorate the founding year of the university. This year’s recipient is Mark Legnick-Hall, professor of management. Since joining the faculty in 2001, Legnick-Hall has made notable and sustained contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. He has taught a variety of courses across all levels, and he receives high marks from his students. His research is focused on strategic human resource management, human resource management in nonprofit organizations and employment issues related to people with disabilities. And, his research record includes over 40 peer-reviewed journal articles.

In addition to the faculty awards, three staff members were honored for their contributions to the college. Shelly Dotson, senior administrative associate in the Dean’s Office, was a recipient of the Dean’s Staff Excellence Award. Dotson is an integral member of the college who demonstrates a high level of competency and knowledge in her job. She is always willing to help others and was instrumental in making arrangements for the college’s accreditation team.

The second Dean’s Staff Excellence Award was presented to Katherine Perritano, systems analyst. Perritano is responsible for maintaining the college’s technology needs. She always responds with patience and a great attitude when she is called upon to help others. And, she finds resourceful ways to solve computer challenges.

The final recipient of the Dean’s Staff Excellence Award was Melyssa Ranton, academic advisor III. Ranton’s strong work ethic and exceptional leadership skills are an asset to the Business Studies Advising Center. She establishes good relationships with her students and patiently works with them to address their needs.

The college also honored two colleagues who are retiring from academia. Sandra Welch, professor of accounting, and Mark Lengnick-Hall, professor of management. Welch joined the college in 1991 and served in both college and university leadership roles. Legnick-Hall began teaching at UTSA in 2011 and was instrumental in launching the department’s doctoral program.

Wendy Frost—

Please send your comments to:

— Joanna Carver