Connect With Us

Annual Report

Annual Reports

Three Faculty Receive President’s Distinguished Achievement Award

Three College of Business faculty members were honored at the university’s Faculty Honors Convocation in May.

Yiuman Tse, professor of finance, received the President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching Excellence. Tse develops courses that are challenging, but still receives outstanding ratings from his students. He translates theoretical knowledge into practical applications and incorporates current affairs into his classes to capture developments within the financial markets.

Joleen Beltrami, lecturer III in management science and statistics, received the President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Non-Tenure Track Teaching Excellence. She has taught a variety of quantitative courses that are typically difficult for students. In these courses, her students have commented that she explains complex issues with clarity and makes the subject matter truly enjoyable. She has had a lasting impact on the undergraduate statistics program and is one of the highest-rated faculty members in the department.

In recognition of his core curriculum teaching prowess, Timothy Strudell, a lecturer for the Departments of Economics and Finance, received the President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Core Curriculum Teaching Excellence. Strudell regularly teaches three core curriculum courses in economics as well as an honors section. He led a freshman seminar last fall and scores consistently high on teaching surveys. He brings a unique combination of real world experience, creativity and enthusiasm to his work.

College of Business faculty were also recognized for their distinguished service to the university. Joel Saegert, professor and chairman of the Department of Marketing, received his 30-year service pin. Ron Ayers, associate professor of economics, was honored for 25 years of service. And completing 20 years of service were Ted Skekel, associate professor of accounting, and Lynda de la Viña, dean and Peter Flawn Professor of Economics.

Wendy Frost—

Please send your comments to: wendy.frost@utsa.edu