Connect With Us

Annual Report

Annual Reports

Five College of Business Faculty Honored

Five faculty members were honored for excellence in the areas of teaching, research and service at the College of Business Awards Reception May 5.

Yiuman Tse, professor of finance, received the E. Lou Curry Teaching Excellence Award. The college’s premier teaching award, the E. Lou Curry Award is presented in memory of Lou Curry, a respected faculty member who passed away in 1995.

Tse consistently receives outstanding ratings from his students, and his passion for teaching is clearly infectious. He develops courses that challenge the students and utilize his research background. He also incorporates current affairs into his classes to capture important turning points in the development of financial markets.

In addition to his teaching prowess, Tse has been a driving force in the doctoral program of the Department of Finance. He has co-authored numerous papers with his doctoral students, presented at national conferences and chaired four dissertation committees.

The Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award for Non-Tenure Track Faculty was presented to Joleen Beltrami, lecturer III in management science and statistics. Since joining the college’s faculty in 2003, Beltrami has had a lasting impact on the undergraduate statistics program. She is one of the highest rated faculty members in the department, and she teaches students not only how to compute statistics, but how these techniques apply to real life applications.

In addition to teaching three courses each semester, she also serves as the undergraduate advisor for the actuarial science program. She assists the students with their degree plans and works with outside organizations such as USAA to develop programming for the students.

In the area of research excellence, L.J. Shrum, professor of marketing, was named the Col. Jean Piccione and Lt. Col. Philip Piccione Endowed Research Award recipient. Shrum is one of the foremost researchers in the college, and he routinely publishes in the highest-ranking journals in not one, but two disciplines: consumer behavior and advertising/communications. He serves on the editorial boards of five journals, and he was recently named editor of the prestigious journal, Media Psychology. He has put the Department of Marketing on the research map nationally, and he shares his expertise by mentoring new faculty.

Since coming to UTSA in 2002, Shrum has published articles in elite journals, has been cited in refereed publications more than 200 times, has published numerous book chapters and one scholarly book, “The Psychology of Entertainment Media: Blurring the Lines Between Entertainment and Persuasion.” Most recently his article “Television’s Cultivation of Material Values,” appeared in the Journal of Consumer Research.

Ted Skekel , associate professor of accounting, received the Patrick J. Clynes Service Award. Skekel has been an active participant in service activities for his department, college and university. He has served as faculty advisor for Beta Alpha Psi, the National Accounting Honors Society, and Alpha Kappa Psi, a national business organization. He has served as chair of the MBA and International MBA graduate committees and chair of the university’s Graduate Council.

He has also spearheaded the annual Kathleen Reymann Keil Scholarship Golf Tournament, which is in its 14 th year. This tournament generates the largest amount of scholarship support for the Department of Accounting.

Finally, Don Lien , the Richard S. Liu Chair in Business, received the college’s Endowed 1969 Commemorative Faculty Award for Overall Faculty Excellence. This award honors a faculty member for their accomplishments in teaching, research and service. A world renowned researcher, Lien has been named the #1 researcher in the world in the field of finance, and he has published more than 160 papers in academic journals in the fields of economics, finance and statistics.

In addition to his research prowess, Lien is also a valued contributor in the classroom. He has taught a variety of courses for the Department of Economics, receives praise from his students as well as high teaching evaluations. As associate dean for international programs, Lien has been instrumental in the expansion of the college’s Asian programs, which now include six universities in China as well as executive programs with Shanghai and Tianjin.

Wendy Frost—

Please send your comments to: wendy.frost@utsa.edu