Connect With Us

Annual Report

Annual Reports

UTSA Finance Faculty Member Receives Award for Technical Analysis Research

Julie Dahlquist, senior lecturer in finance at The University of Texas at San Antonio College of Business, has been named the recipient of the Charles H. Dow Award from the Market Technicians Association. The award, which is the most significant recognition in the field of technical analysis, is presented annually for excellence and creativity in technical analysis.

Her paper, “Analyzing Gaps for Profitable Trading Strategies,” was co-authored with a colleague from St. Mary’s University. The paper presents a detailed template for analyzing gaps, filtered for various market conditions, to identify actionable trading opportunities while focusing on relative market performance.

Dahlquist, who is a certified Chartered Market Technician, is a frequent presenter at national and international conferences. Her research has appeared in Financial Analysts Journal, Managerial Finance, Applied Economics, Working Money, Financial Practices and Education, and the Journal of Financial Education. She has co-authored two books: Technical Analysis: The Complete Resource for Financial Market Technicians and Technical Market Indicators: Analysis and Performance.

“I am honored to be chosen as a 2011 recipient of the Charles H. Dow Award,” said Dahlquist. “I hope that my research expands the body of knowledge of technical analysis and is of use to others in the field.”

The Market Technicians Association’s objective is to educate the investment community and members in technical analysis. More than 4,000 analysts and market professionals from over 75 countries are members.

Wendy Frost—

Please send your comments to: wendy.frost@utsa.edu