Dean’s Advisory Council

The Dean’s Advisory Council assists the dean, faculty and staff in raising the academic profile of UTSA’s Carlos Alvarez College of Business to become one of the nation’s best business schools. The Advisory Council will achieve its mission through a membership of diverse individuals whose stature and community leadership bring recognition to the college, and who:

  • Advise and volunteer assistance to the Dean, faculty and staff on curricula and programs, career planning and placement of students, alumni engagement, external affairs and other important issues;
  • Offer insights to the Dean, faculty, and staff on how the college can enhance the impact and reputation of its programs locally, regionally, nationally and internationally;
  • Engage in, assist, and support the college’s fundraising efforts; and
  • Provide an avenue of direct liaison between the college and the business community for activities such as consulting, involving faculty members in practical business problems, arranging guest lecturers, and offering students exposure to business issues.

Advisory Council Members

  • Denise E. Bendele, ’87, RSM US LLP
  • Ann Bohl Deacon, ’84, Deacon Recruiting & Deacon Professional Services
  • Matt Dennis, Victory Capital
  • Walter D. Downing Jr., MBA ’86, Southwest Research Institute
  • Walter M. Embrey Jr., Embrey
  • Yvonne Fernandez, ’85, Security Service Federal Credit Union
  • Stewart G. Goodson, ’84, Chair, EY
  • Kenneth Hoffman, ’85, Kenneth Hoffman Management Consulting
  • Dana Hunt, PwC
  • Ann Janson, ’97, Phillips 66
  • Daniel Karam, ’97, MSIT ’01, UTSA
  • Nancy Kudla, MBA ’87, Kudla Foundation
  • Jim Langabeer, BBA ’91,  Yellowstone Research
  • Benjamin Montanez, Norton Rose Fulbright
  • George S. Muller, MBA ’76, retired, C.H. Guenther & Son, Inc.
  • Oladapo Olaleye, MBA ’09, ST Engineering
  • Nancy Ozuna, ’93, MPA ’95, Forvis
  • Patricia Ponton, Marathon Oil
  • Chris Rosas, ’00, MBA ’02, Bumble
  • E. Rene Salas, ’86, Wellmond
  • Jerry Salinas, ’80, Frost
  • Martin Salinas, ’94, Phase 4 Energy Partners
  • Marcelo P. Sanchez, retired, AHMSA International
  • Michael Setser, ’97, Spurs Sports and Entertainment
  • Jordan Walder, ’84,  Wells Fargo Bank

Ex Officio Members

  • Taylor Eighmy, UTSA President
  • Jonathon Halbesleben, Dean
  • Laurie Griffith, Co-Chair REFD Founders Council, Independent Financial
  • Mark Manglicmot, Chair Cyber & Analytics Board of Advisors, Arctic Wolf
  • Derek Schriver, Chair Accounting Advisory Board, Schriver, Carmona, P.L.L.C.
  • Robert Worth, Jr., Co-Chair REFD Founders Council, R. L. Worth & Associates Ltd.