Connect With Us

Annual Report

Annual Reports

Business Faculty Members Honored During College Awards Ceremony

facultyawardsTen College of Business faculty members were honored for excellence in the areas of teaching, research and service at the College Awards Reception April 29.

Dr. Palani-Rajan Kadapakkam, professor of finance and U.S. Global Investors, Inc. Fellow, received the E. Lou Curry Teaching Excellence Award. The college’s premier teaching award, the E. Lou Curry Award is presented in memory of Lou Curry, a respected faculty member who passed away in 1995. Teaching at the undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels, Kadapakkam is known for bringing high-quality research into the classroom. He has been instrumental in spearheading the redesign of the finance undergraduate curriculum, and he consistently receives high student evaluations.

Dr. Allen Zhang, assistant professor of marketing, was named the recipient of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award for Tenure-Track Faculty. Zhang’s classes are both rigorous and innovative, and he frequently brings in actual business scenarios for the students to address and research. He works to improve his craft and has sought advice from his more senior colleagues to improve his teaching.

The Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty was presented to Ermine Orta, lecturer in management science and statistics. Orta is also the recipient of the university’s award for core curriculum teaching excellence. A graduate of the college’s statistics program, she is extremely knowledgeable in the subject area and shares her love of statistics with her students.

In the area of research excellence, Dr. John Wald, associate professor of finance, was named the Col. Jean Piccione and Lt. Col. Philip Piccione Endowed Research Award recipient. Wald has a long-term research record specializing in corporate finance and the intersection of law, politics and finance.  In 2009 he had papers accepted in the Journal of Financial Economics, the Journal of Law and Economics and the Journal of Empirical Finance.

Dr. Ashok Lalwani, assistant professor of marketing, was the recipient of the Dean’s Research Excellence Award for Tenure-Track Faculty. Since coming to UTSA in 2006, his research has been recognized for both its high quality as well as its prolific nature. In 2009 in published three journal articles in top-tier marketing journals. His research in consumer behavior examines the role of cultural values in consumers’ beliefs as well as biases in price perception.

Recognizing a career of service to UTSA, Dr. Keith Fairchild, associate professor of finance, received the Patrick J. Clynes Service Award. Fairchild is always ready to serve the needs of our students and the university.  He has conducted assessments for SACS accreditation, organized catalog changes, and directs the college’s MBA program.  He has served as a member of the scholarship committee and the faculty awards committee.
Daniel Tablada, lecturer II in marketing, was named the recipient of the Dean’s Excellence Award for University Service for Non-Tenure-Track Faculty. Tablada was also the recipient of the university’s award for university service.  With more than 25 years of industry experience, he is a leading force in engaging business students in international programs. He pioneered the first business course taught in Spanish and coordinates the college’s Bilingual Business Certificate Program.

Dr. Pamela Smith, associate professor of accounting, was the recipient of the Dean’s Excellence Award for Community Service. Smith uses her knowledge of accounting and non-profit management to the advantage of the community. She has been a member and president of the Finance Council at her church, and for the last six years has been a member of the Archdiocese of San Antonio Finance Council.  She is an active member of the Junior League of San Antonio, and professionally she has been involved with the Ph.D. Project.
Highlighting the strategic importance of international issues, the college established the Dean’s Excellence Award for Advancing Globalization. This year’s recipient is Dr. Hamid Beladi, professor of economics and IBC Bank Senior Faculty Fellow. Beladi is a renowned researcher in international economics and a world-wide leader in the field of international economics. He is the editor of three economics journals and is the co-founder of the International Economics and Finance Society.

Finally, Dr. Jan Clark, professor of information systems, received the college’s Endowed 1969 Commemorative Faculty Award for Overall Faculty Excellence. This award honors a faculty member for their accomplishments in teaching, research and service. Clark teaches at the undergraduate, graduate and doctoral level. Most recently, she has been instrumental in leading the college’s Ph.D. program in information technology. She has an exemplary publication record and has published numerous articles in leading journals. She is also committed to serving the university, college and her department. She has been the Ph.D. advisor since 2005, has served as a principal investigator for successful Department of Defense grants and will lead the college’s new immersion program to Morocco this summer.

Wendy Frost—

Please send your comments to: wendy.frost@utsa.edu