Connect With Us

Annual Report

Annual Reports

Bill Ford to Present Keynote Address at College’s Signature Speaker Series Nov. 13

Bill Ford, executive chairman of Ford Motor Company, will present the keynote address during The University of Texas at San Antonio College of Business Signature Speaker Series Thursday, Nov. 13 at the Westin Riverwalk hotel in downtown San Antonio.

The series is a forum where students, faculty and alumni can come together and hear from some of the brightest business leaders of our time. Wachovia is the presenting sponsor and all proceeds from the event will benefit student scholarships and programs in the College of Business.

“The Signature Speaker Series provides a first-class opportunity for the San Antonio community to hear from nationally recognized business leaders and to showcase UTSA and the College of Business,” said College of Business Dean Lynda de la Viña.

Ford joined the Board of Directors of Ford Motor Company in 1988 and has been its chairman since January 1999. He serves as chairman of the board’s Finance Committee and as a member of the Environmental and Public Policy Committee. He also served as chief executive officer of the company from October 2001 to September 2006, when he was named executive chairman.

A lifelong environmentalist, Ford is committed to increasing shareholder value by developing products that please customers and benefit society. Ford championed the Ford Escape Hybrid, the world’s first hybrid-electric Sports Utility Vehicle. He holds a bachelor of arts degree from Princeton University and a master of science degree in management from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

The event is led by an Alumni Host Committee comprised of Iñigo Arzac,’05, Merrill Lynch & Co.; Carlos Barbosa,’94, Wells Fargo & Company; Denise Bendele,’87, Padgett, Stratemann & Co.; Abigail Erwin, EMBA’99, Deacon Recruiting; Susan Filyk, MBA’95, U.S. Global Investors; Brent Given,’85, The Bank of San Antonio; Tracy Jackson,’93, Tesoro; Kathleen Martinez,’94, Wachovia; Andrew Ozuna,’91, Regions Bank; and Al Tomita, MBA’01, Sushi Zushi.

In addition to Ford’s remarks, the UTSA College of Business will honor Cindy Jorgensen, EMBA ’00, chief financial officer of Southwest Business Corporation, with the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award. April Ancira, MBA ’03, vice president of Ancira Chrysler Jeep Nissan/SMART, is the recipient of the Young Alumni Achievement Award.

The event begins at 6:30 p.m. with a general reception and the program and dinner follows at 7 p.m. Individual tickets are $75 per person and table sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information, call (210) 458-7311 or visit the event Web site.

Wendy Frost—

Please send your comments to: wendy.frost@utsa.edu