Our Dean

Pamela Smith was named interim dean and Bodenstedt Chair of the Carlos Alvarez College of Business at The University of Texas at San Antonio. She is also a professor of accounting.

She joined the accounting faculty at UTSA in 2001. Smith teaches federal income tax at both the undergraduate and graduate level. Her research focuses on how tax policy impacts decision-making within the nonprofit healthcare field. Dr. Smith has published numerous articles in tax and specialized healthcare journals.

Since September 2019 she has served as the college’s associate dean of administration and faculty. In this position Smith has been responsible for overseeing COB operations and administrative functions—including the budget, human resources, information technology, facilities and space planning, infrastructure and faculty affairs—and for collaborating with the dean’s staff and department chairs to coordinate and implement college initiatives, academic programming and student success efforts.

Prior to her current role, she served as the college’s associate dean of graduate studies from 2016 to 2019.

She is also a member of several professional organizations including the American Accounting Association, the American Taxation Association and the National Association of Black Accountants. She has also served as the UTSA faculty coordinator for the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program and is very active as a faculty mentor for the Ph.D. Project.

Smith earned her Ph.D. and M.S. in accounting from Virginia Tech, and her B.S. in commerce, with a concentration in accounting from the University of Virginia.