Show/Hide University Links

UTSA College of Business
COB Events
Frost BankThe Frost Distinguished Lecture Series brings prominent business and community leaders to UTSA to share their knowledge and experiences with students and others in the university and business community. The lecture series, which began in 1988, presents a forum for business leaders and academics to share their experiences in business so that students can broaden their understanding of the business world and the individuals who lead it.

2015 Featured Speaker

Mike Garcia

Michael Garcia, '85
Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President Acquisitions and Development
Omni Hotels & Resorts

November 10
11:30 a.m.

Richard S. Liu Auditorium
Business Building 2.01.02
UTSA Main Campus

Please call (210) 458-7311 to RSVP and receive parking instructions.

Mike Garcia has more than 20 years of experience in the hospitality industry. Serving in his current position since 2009, Omni Hotels & Resorts' aggressive growth over the last several years can be attributed to his leadership.

Recent accomplishments include the acquisition of six iconic resorts: Omni Barton Creek, Omni Grove Park Inn, Omni Homestead, Omni La Costa, Omni Montelucia and Omni Rancho Las Palmas.

Garcia joined Omni Hotels in 1996 and has risen through the ranks including serving as controller of corporate accounting and vice president controller and vice president financial services.

A member of the AICPA and the Texas Chapter of CPAs, Garcia graduated from UTSA with a bachelor's in business administration degree in accounting and is a certified public accountant.

The Frost Distinguished Lecture Series bring prominent business and community leaders to UTSA to share their knowledge and experience with students and others in the university and business community.

Past Speakers (click here to view info)

Kim Lubel, CST Brands, Inc.

Patrick T. Mulva
, MBA '75, Exxon Mobil Corporation
Red McCombs
, McCombs

Dick Evans
, Frost
Gregory Goff
, Tesoro

Dr. Bernard T. Swift, Jr., Texas MedClinic
Jim Bodenstedt
, '96, MUY Brands LLC

Nancy Kudla, MBA '87, Kudla Foundation
Bill Morrow
, '86, CSIdentity Corporation

Kathleen Quiroz, Strasburger, Price, Oppenheimer, Blend, Attorneys at Law
Alfonso Tomita, MBA '01, President, Sushi Zushi

Elaine Mendoza, President and chief executive officer, Conceptual Mindworks, Inc
Josue Robles, Jr., President & CEO, USAA

Lanham Napier, President & CEO, Rackspace
Robert Estrada, Chairman of the Board, Estrada Hinojosa & Co., Inc.
Suzanne Wade, President of the SA Food/Drug Division, H-E-B

General Al Zapanta, President & CEO, U.S.-Mexico Chamber of Commerce

Lionel Sosa, CEO, Mexicans & Americans Thinking Together (MATT)
Dr. Ray Perryman, President & CEO, The Perryman Group

Patricia Diaz-Dennis, Sr. VP / Assistant General Counsel, SBC Services, Inc.
Dr. James J. Heckman, Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
Lt. Gov. William P. Hobby, Former Lieutenant Governor of Texas

Jeanie R. Wyatt, MBA '86, CEO, South Texas Money Management, Ltd.
James R. Adams, Retired Chairman of Board, Texas Instruments

Charles L. Korbell, Jr., President & CEO, Clarke American Checks Inc.
Henry Muñoz, III, Chairman of Board & CEO, Kell Muñoz Architects Inc.
Dolph Briscoe, Former Governor of Texas    
Art Laffer, Founder & Chairman/Economist, Laffer Associates

Ernest Bromley, Chairman & CEO, Bromley Communications
Marty Wender, Owner, Charles Martin Wender Real Estate & Investments
David Oreck, Founder & Chairman, Oreck Corporation

Navarra Williams, President, Time Warner Cable
Henry Cisneros, Chairman & CEO, American City Vista
Jamie Rochelle, General Manager & CEO, City Public Service
Lee Sutterfield, President & Chairman of the Board, SecureLogix Corporation

Nelson W. Wolff, President, Sun Harvest Farms Partners, Ltd.
Don Peppers, Partner, Peppers and Rogers Group

Gene Stallings, Former Head Football Coach
David Robinson, CEO & co-Founder, The David Robinson Foundation
Tino Duran, Owner and Publisher, La Prensa

Balous T. Miller, President, Bill Biller Bar-B-Q Enterprises, Inc.
Debbi Fields, Founder and Former Chairman of Mrs. Fields Cookies          
Drayton McLane, Jr., Chairman, McLane Group, L.P. and Owner of Houston Astros
B. J. "Red" McCombs, CEO, McCombs Enterprises

Gen. Robert T. Herres, USAF (Ret.), Chairman & CEO, USAA
Kenneth Whipple, Former President-Ford Financial Services Group, Exec.V.P.-Ford Motor Co. & Chairman & CEO-Ford Motor Cr. Co.      

Ann McLaughlin, 17th United States Secretary of Labor    
Richard L. Scott, Former President and CEO of Columbia/HCA Health Care        
Edward E. Whitacre, Jr., Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, SBC Communications, Inc.
Walter B. Wriston, Former Chairman of Citicorp

Horst Schulze, President & CEO, The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company

Kenneth Whipple, President, Ford Financial Services Group

Tom Benson, Chairman of the Board, Benson Automotive

Roger Hemminghaus, President & CEO, Diamond Shamrock
Robert Mosbacher, U.S. Secretary of Commerce
Richard W. Evans, Jr., President, Frost National Bank

Gordon E. Forward, President & CEO, Chaparral Steel
Herbert D. Kelleher, Chairman of the Board, President & CEO, Southwest Airlines
William Dr. Brock, Former U.S. Secretary of Labor 

George Becker, Jr., Former President, Sea World of Texas
Charles Butt, CEO, H.E.B. Grocery Company
John Connally, Former Governor of Texas    

Charles Martin Wender, Real Estate Financier 


UTSA Homepage | College of Business Homepage | Events | Community | Giving | Directory | Contact Us | Site Map
College of Business — The University of Texas at San Antonio
One UTSA Circle — San Antonio, TX 78249-0631— (210) 458-4313 FAX (210) 458-4308

Please send comments about this site to the College of Business Webmaster
Privacy & Security Policies
UTSA Homepage College of Business Homepage