Show/Hide University Links

UTSA College of Business

Department of Economics

Advisory Council
The mission of the UTSA College of Business Advisory Council is to assist the Dean, faculty, and staff in raising the academic profile of UTSA's College of Business to become one of the nation's best business schools recognized for developing knowledge for a new world and for producing the new paradigm's transformational leaders. The Advisory Council will achieve its mission through a membership of diverse individuals whose stature and community leadership bring recognition to the college, and who:

  • Engage in, assist, and support the college's fundraising efforts;

  • Consult with and advise the Dean, faculty and staff of the college on curricula and programs, career planning and placement of students, alumni engagement, external affairs and other important issues affecting the future of the college;

  • Offer insights to the Dean, faculty and staff on how the college can enhance the impact and reputation of its programs locally, regionally, nationally and internationally; and

  • Provide an additional avenue of direct liaison between faculty and the business community for the purpose of promoting understanding, cooperation, and mutual gain through such activities as consulting arrangements, involving faculty members in practical business problems, arranging for guest lecturers from industry, bringing students in direct contact with business executives and their ideas, and offering students practical exposure to current business

Advisory Council Members

  • Chair
    Tracy Jackson, '93, EMBA '12

    Denise E. Bendele, '87, RSM US LLP
    Dya C. Campos, EMBA '12, H-E-B
    Ann Bohl Deacon
    , '84, Deacon Recruiting & Deacon Professional Services
    Walter D. Downing Jr., MBA '86, Southwest Research Institute
    T. Patrick Duncan, retired USAA Real Estate Company
    Steve Edlund
    , Cadence Bank
    Walter M. Embrey Jr.
    , Embrey Partners Ltd.
    Ronald W. Fielding, Common Sense Strategy, LLC
    Ryan Frames, Wells Fargo & Company
    Michael A. Garcia, '85
    Stewart G. Goodson, '84, EY
    Geronimo Gutierrez
    , North American Development Bank
    Susan Hough
    , MBA '91, PwC
    Cindy L. Jorgensen
    , EMBA '00
    Nancy Kudla, MBA '87, Kudla Foundation
    Jim Laffoon, Security Service Federal Credit Union
    Laura G. McNutt, MPA '88, Weaver, LLP
    William E. Morrow, '86, Quarri Technologies, Inc.
    George S. Muller, MBA '76, C.H. Guenther & Son, Inc.
    Nancy Ozuna, '93, MPA '95, BKD, LLP
    Charles L. Paulette
    , '92, EMBA '01, Real Ale
    Michael Ramirez
    , '79, Strategic Materials
    Martin Salinas
    , '94, Phase 4 Energy Partners
    Marcelo P. Sanchez
    , Ahmsa International Inc.
    Gary Simmons, EMBA '00, Valero Energy Corporation
    Mike K. Sohn
    , International Bank of Commerce
    Jordan Walder, ’84,  Wells Fargo Bank
    Todd Wyatt, '97, Acelity

    Lifetime Members
    Ernest W. Bromley, '78, MBA '80, retired Bromley Communications
    Patrick B. Frost, Frost Bank
    Joe C. McKinney, Broadway Bank

  • Ex Officio Members
    Paul C. Castella, EMBA '05, Incyte Venture Partners; Center for Innovation and Technology Entrepreneurship Advisory Board
    Laurie Griffith, Texas Capital Bank; Real Estate Finance & Development Founders Council
    Joseph A. Hernandez, '93, Akin, Doherty, Klein & Feuge, P.C.; Accounting Advisory Board
    Robert L. Worth Jr. , R.L. Worth & Associates; Real Estate Finance & Development Founders Council

    * Appointed as ex officio member as Chair of advisory group in the College of Business


UTSA Homepage | College of Business Homepage | Events | Community | Giving | Directory | Contact Us | Site Map
College of Business — The University of Texas at San Antonio
One UTSA Circle — San Antonio, TX 78249-0631— (210) 458-4313 FAX (210) 458-4308

Please send comments about this site to the College of Business Webmaster
Privacy & Security Policies
UTSA Homepage College of Business Homepage